Nikiana is located on the east side of Lefkada, 8 km from the city, developed at the foot of the green mountain of Skaros, the ancient Homeric «Niion», according to the researcher archaeologist Wilhelm Dörpfeld and many other younger researchers.

It is inhabited by 700 residents , most of them are farmers, fishermen and SMEs of catering and tourism and in summertime hosts 7.500 visitors.

It features the «oak forest» of Skaros which has unique beauty and breathtaking view of «Paradisonisia (islands of paradise) », Nikiana also has a port for mooring small and fishing boats, beautiful beaches with calm bays, many rooms for rent and hotels, traditional taverns and restaurants.

During the year 1807, inside the small chapel of Pantokrator (Sotiro) which is located in a place called Magemenos ( The Enchanted), J. Kapodistrias, T. Kolokotronis, Katsantonis, bishop Ignatios from Arta and many other fighters gave their first oath for revolution and regeneration of Greeks, which finally happened in the year 1821.

Near the traditional settlement of Alexandros, there is the first Christian hermitage of Lefkada, called «Agii Pateres». Also, above the traditional settlement of Kolivata one can find the once prosperous monastery of St. George.



The village Alexandros located at the foot of the mountain of scrap as well until the mid-20th century there lived several residents, who were engaged mostly in farming and agricultural production. In much of the region still maintains vineyards from various local varieties. Features remnants of that era are the two windmills located at the entrance of the village, where the residents of Alexander and neighboring areas grind their grain scarce.

The settlement flourished and this is proved by the newly renovated school, in which the number of students once exceeded 70. In Alexander there are three churches, the Church Saint Demetrius, JN St. Spyridon located in the village square and the Church of the Assumption, which is considered to be the older 1726 and renovated in 1797-1799.

The settlement began gradually abandoned in the early 1970s and a residents moved from Nikian to the tourism boom. Today there live about fifteen people and the number is growing quite the summer.

Alexander is probably the village that the island throughout the years remained unchanged, so the visit to the area and the walk between the old dilapidated houses is a ride in the recent past of the region.



Kolivata located at the foot of scrap as well and this is one of the many mountain villages of Lefkada is now deserted. In the village there is one of the oldest monasteries of the island, that of St. George. The monastery although today it is ruined for the most remarkable architectural complex in Lefkada with a long history, and important spiritual and social work. Founded in 1611 and worked as a communal monastery, where egkataviosan important personalities of the local Church.

Also located in the village and the church of St. Nicholas. The church was made after the coming of the British nation in Lefkada, in 1700. The church, in principle little place on the current size in 1840. Its steeple was constructed by craftsman John Vrettos (Melenios) around 1930.